Managers Welcome

I’m starting a blog to share my experiences in the different positions of management I have held.  They have all been in retail and at the same company.  The positions I have held are operations, hardlines, and now currently receiving. I will go into detail about each position and discuss things I’ve experienced, either good or bad and share them to develop connections with other managers.  The reoccurring theme in my blogs will be related to age gaps in management and attempt to highlight efficient management techniques regardless of age.  My blogs on management will include topics on motivation, leadership, communication and others related to management.  My purpose is not to discourage managers from a specific generation or bash management techniques that I deem ineffective, but more importantly talk about my experiences and research to help managers understand each other and their employees.  With my experience as a manager and my education, it is evident that social media has and will continue to affect businesses.  Social media is not only used to connect with customers and get feedback from them, but to also find candidates that will bring value to your business. 

Occupying any level of management at the store level in retail it is necessary to have a good handle on CRM (customer relationship management).  CRM doesn’t simply apply to personal relationships and casual conversations to individuals one at a time anymore, but opens the door to many social platforms (Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Salesforce, etc.) to reach your targeted group.  It is necessary for businesses to be able to use these social platforms properly for inbound marketing.  My advice to businesses starting out or already established just wanting to obtain more market share, would be to experiment with these various channels and save money and time while doing so.  I recently went to a lecture on social media,  Are You Ready to be Social, by Esteban Kolsky @ekolsky and it strengthened my feelings about the generational shift that we are currently leaning towards.  Managers in many companies are very focused on the baby boomer generation, but haven’t established a connection with Generation Y, which will influence a much larger market that will produce a significant ROI (return on investment). 

Being a part of Generation Y has encouraged me to take the appropriate steps to incorporate my views on management and where we are headed.  Many managers in retail have worked their way up the corporate ladder from part time, full time, lead, key holder, senior associate and finally reaching management.  They do this by seniority not by education, which can hinder your ability to manage effectively.  I would tell managers that do not have any formal education to be even more open to new ideas and speak with other manager about issues, concerns, and suggestions you may have.  Managers who are valuable limit habitual mistakes and constantly strive to polish their knowledge, skills, and abilities.

About Benjamin Fry

I will graduate in December with a degree in business management at the University of Nevada, Reno. I have held multiple management positions at my current company, Sports Authority. Continuing to further my KSAs in management, motivation and leadership. I feel it necessary to break down the barrier that younger management and older management have built between themselves. With my experience, I plan to aid managers from all ages to understand how to integrate various management styles in order to make businesses more efficient.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

